The Index · BFSI

India AI-Native Index · Edition one · Public evidence only

HDFC Life

Scored on public evidence published between February 2025 and August 2026, reviewed through 30 August 2026, under the Edition 1 locked rule set (ANS-100/P v2.1, 1-floor on every question). Provisional result and evidence annexure sent to the company fourteen days before publication.

51.6Score out of 100
AI IntegratedBand · 41–60
AConfidence · 6 of 8 evidence categories
NoneCeilings triggered

Bands are calibrated thresholds on the published scale, not ranks.

What this assessment is, and is not

The Index measures what a company has placed on the public record about its use of AI, within the evidence window, against a published rubric. It does not measure business performance, product quality, safety, customer outcomes, or the adequacy of internal controls. A low score on any question means that, in the public sources listed below, reviewed through the cut-off date, disclosure sufficient to satisfy the published criterion was not located. The company may maintain relevant practices or controls that are not publicly disclosed.

By dimension

Knowledge & context
62%
Agents & automation
56%
Model & infrastructure
25%
Data & AI security
42%
Organisation
50%
Economics & outcomes
58%
Business-model exposure
56%

Each dimension is the share of available points earned on the questions that could be scored from public evidence. 24 of 35 questions were scoreable; the remainder are outside the public-evidence instrument.

Evidence located

Questions on which the reviewed public sources contained disclosure meeting at least the level-2 anchor of the published rubric:

Level 3 — instances, or a disclosed number linked to a named system

  • internal AI tooling in use
  • AI deployed across functions
  • AI leadership and organisation
  • improvement trail and versioning
  • leadership commitment and strategic response

Level 2 — disclosed; not quantified or independently verified

  • named AI platform or knowledge substrate
  • production AI autonomy
  • orchestration or integration platform
  • guardrail and evaluation documentation
  • canonical data platform
  • AI governance posture
  • role redesign around AI
  • AI-specific investment
  • AI attribution to reported economics
  • AI-attributed operational rate
  • AI-native monetisation
  • position on agentic or AI-mediated exposure
  • product that could not exist before AI, with volumes

Level descriptions are those of the published rubric. The evidence annexure sent to the company lists the specific documents and passages relied on for each question.

Where disclosure meeting the criterion was not located

In the public sources listed below, reviewed through 30 August 2026, we did not locate disclosure sufficient to satisfy the Index's published criterion for the following. The company may maintain relevant practices or controls that are not publicly disclosed.

  • model strategy or vendor architecture
  • hosting or infrastructure posture
  • open or external build surface
  • evaluation and benchmarking practice
  • API or integration surface
  • AI talent or training figures

Sources reviewed

FY26 Integrated Annual Report via press coverage of AI sections, FY25 AR specifics, claims press release (Jun 2026), COO interview (FE CIO, Dec 2025), chairman's IAR statement coverage

Exchange filings and reports relied on:

All sources archived at scoring date; the complete source archive register is available on request via corrections@thecompounding.company. Short quotations, where used, are attributed and used for the purpose of review. Right-of-reply notice sent 10 September 2026 to the Company Secretary, Investor Relations, registered office, corporate communications and legal function. Company response: none received as at publication. No response is characterised as agreement or endorsement.

This assessment is based exclusively on public information available during the stated evidence window. It does not assess undisclosed internal systems or practices. Scores and bands are opinions produced by applying the published rubric to the cited factual record. Not investment advice. The Index is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by any assessed company.

Corrections: material factual errors are corrected promptly and logged. See the corrections log and the methodology, including its removal policy.